RT Will Be Here Before I Know It

I missed everyone last week, sadly I was busy working. St. Patty’s is a pretty big deal if you work in the bar industry…even if you work at a Tequila Bar. That and a girl’s night out left me wrecked. My father and  uncle were also in town this week. They came just in time to see me with strep throat. I know, I know, this has been the fourth time I have been sick this winter. I am not actually a sickly person by nature though I obviously don’t have the constitution to deal with these winters. I need to get better though because I need to be on my A game at work so I am all set for New Orleans. I am getting really excited for RT.

RT for those that don’t know is the Romantic Times Booklover’s Convention. It is a huge conference that has tons of classes, lectures, parties. All of it relating to writing. Needless to say I am super stoked to be going. At the same time I am a bit daunted by all that needs to be done before hand. I made a list a few months ago on the blog. Things are coming together but being sick four times in the past five months certainly has not helped.  With all the things piling up I decided to add something else to the pot. I am going to enter the American Idol Writing Competition at RT. It’s a bit nerve wracking but I did say on my writing goals for the year that I would enter a contest.

I am surprisingly unworried about the contest. It would be amazing to win, but even getting three chapters to agents and editors is a step in the right direction. So I will be plenty busy these next few weeks. Sometime in there I really want to see the new movie Authors Anonymous. It’s about a writers group whose most recent member has sudden success and makes all of the other writers go a bit nutty. It is obviously going to be overdone but I think it’s something most writers can relate to. We all want our peers to be successful but seeing someone ink a six figure deal overnight might make us a bit jealous. I want to see how the film takes on those feelings and their eventual resolutions. 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

